You can only delete a department if
- No employees have the department as primary
- No employees can also work in this department
- No managers/supervisors manage the department
Once all of these instances are resolved, the DELETE link will show.
Ex. In this case no employee can work in the department, however a manager is still assigned and so the department can’t be deleted.